PhD Writing Support

We offer tailored academic writing workshops to all PhD candidates, delivered through Faculty specific sessions to provide you with focused support. Please visit our 'Which School/Faculty am I in? guide if you’re unsure which Faculty you’re in.

Workshops - Humanities (HUMS)

Introduction to Academic Writing for PGRs in HUMS Part 1

Monday, 5 February: 14:00-16:00  REGISTER HERE

 

Introduction to Academic Writing for PGRs in HUMS Part 2 (CRITICAL LITERACY)

Monday, 12 February: 14:00-16:00  REGISTER HERE

 

Editing and Proofreading your Thesis for HUMS PGRs

Monday, 18 March: 14:00-16:00  REGISTER HERE

Workshops - Faculty of Science and Engineering (FSE)

Academic Writing for PGRs in FSE 1

Tuesday 12th March: 9:30-15:30  REGISTER HERE

Tuesday 7th May: 9:30-15:30  REGISTER HERE

 

Writing up your Thesis for FSE PGRs

Monday 13th May: 9:30-12:30  REGISTER HERE

Workshops - Faculty of Biology, Medicine and Health (FBMH)

Academic Writing for FBMH postgraduate researchers: Introduction to writing a PhD 

Thursday 23rd November - Thursday 7th December: 14:00-15:30  REGISTER HERE

Wednesday 7th February - Wednesday 21st February: 14:00-15:30  REGISTER HERE

Thursday 25th April - Thursday 9th May: 14:00-15:30  REGISTER HERE

 

Academic Writing Tutorial Support

We offer bespoke writing tutorials for all PhD candidates. These tutorials are delivered on a one-to-one basis to provide focused support for your writing.

Our writing tutorials are delivered online, via Zoom. You can normally access a maximum of one tutorial per semester.

How do I book a tutorial?

We will need a sample of your writing (any recent piece of academic work, at any stage of completion.) The sample must be: 

  • 900-1500 words in length (if it is any longer, please highlight the portion of text you wish to use)
  • in Word format (we are unable to accept PDF documents).

Please then: 

  • Email your writing sample to tutorials@manchester.ac.uk
  • Complete the tutorials request form
  • You will receive an email offering you a choice of appointment times, let us know your preferred time and we will send an email confirmation of your appointment.

You should let us know if you cannot attend your appointment.

If you have any questions, please refer to our FAQs, or email tutorials@manchester.ac.uk.